Laclede County Record logo and header

Voters approve marijuana taxes, elect school board members

Laclede County voter approved city and county sales taxes on marijuana and elected school board members in Tuesday’s election. A Laclede County 3 percent sales tax on marijuana was approved with 73 percent of voters in favor. The final unofficial numbers from the Laclede County Clerk’s Office showed 1,968 voted for the tax and 719 voted against it. A City of Lebanon sales tax on marijuana was also approved with 77 percent voting in favor of it. The tax received 879 yes votes and 250 no votes. In the Lebanon R-3 School Board race, voters chose Mary Russell with 1,208 votes, Merri Hess with 1,241 votes and Charlie Darnell with 1,306 votes. The other candidates were Matthew Amsberg who received 1,195 votes and Michael Tracy who received 405 votes. Nicole Walters was elected to a one-year unexpired term on the school board with 975 votes. The other candidates were Jim Smith who received 361 votes and Mikel Flanders who received 558 votes. Laclede County C-5 (Joel E. Barber) School Board results were Chad Wolken with 132 votes, Cody Massey with 161 votes, Aaron Semsch with 145 votes and Paul Corneau with 100 votes. Laclede County R-1 (Conway) School Board results were Courtney Ann Gunter with 167 votes, Crystal Leigh Peterson with 105 votes, Scott M. Anderson with 156 votes, Wesley (Lug) Massey with 137 votes and Scott A. Owens with 132 votes. Results are expected to be certified and made official later this week.