Laclede County Record logo and header

Pollock, McCaslin win primary races

A challenger unseated the incumbent Laclede County Public Administrator and an incumbent Associate County Commissioner won a close race in Tuesday’s primary election. Zane McCaslin won the Republican nomination for Public Administrator, defeating Karen Guinn with nearly 60 percent of the vote. McCaslin received 3,439 votes to 2,323 for Guinn, according to unofficial results from the Laclede County Clerk’s Office. Since no Democrats filed for county offices, the winners of the primary are the presumptive winners of the election. Darrell Pollock retained his seat as Associate Commissioner for the Western District in a close race with Joe Wasmer. Pollock received 1,415 votes, 50.94 percent of the total. Wasmer received 1,363 votes, 49.06 percent of the total. In the other contested county race, David Layman won the Republican nomination for Associate Commissioner of the Eastern District winning 57 percent of the vote. Layman garnered 1,727 votes to defeat Kelly Doublin who received 1,299 votes.


No comments on this story | Please log in to comment by clicking here
Please log in or register to add your comment