Laclede County Record logo and header

County sales tax renewed

Incumbents retain seats on Lebanon R-3 School Board


Laclede County voters approved continuing a 1/2 cent sales tax for county operations in elections held Tuesday, according to unofficial results from the Laclede County Clerk’s Office.

The vote continues the tax for a period of 10 years beginning in 2024 and ending Dec. 31, 2033. The tax is used for purposes including law enforcement, maintaining county roads, emergency management, emergency services and economic development. The issue was approved by 75 percent of voters, with 2,009 yes votes and 683 no votes.

There were 2,714 ballots cast in Tuesday’s election, which is a 12.28 percent voter turnout, according to the unofficial results.

In local city elections, incumbent Ward 1 Councilman Ken Eldridge retained his seat with 56 percent of the vote. Eldridge received 208 votes while his challenger Jeremy Goforth received 163 votes.

Other Lebanon City Council members were re-elected without opposition. They are Jonathan Reagan in Ward 2, Randy Wall in Ward 3 and Bob Garner in Ward 4.

Two Lebanon R-3 School Board members, Jason Riggs and Bob O’Neil, retained their seats on the board. Riggs received 1,293 votes, 32 percent of the total, while O’Neil received 1,189 votes for 29 percent of the total. The other candidates were Robert (Aaron) Windsor, Keri Meckem, Alexander Johnson and write-in candidate Joe Seaman.

Candidates elected to the Laclede County Health Department Board of Trustees were Kenny Waterman with 25 percent, Judy Ann Tuebner with 21 percent and Sherri L. Williams with 21 percent of the vote.

Elected to the Laclede County C-5 (Joel E. Barber) School Board were Melissa McCormick with 42 percent of the vote and Robert (Bobby) Christiansen with 30 percent of the vote.


No comments on this story | Please log in to comment by clicking here
Please log in or register to add your comment